Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I was tagged in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop by the talented and enthusiastic Kate Lowell from her blog: http://thebluntinstrument.wordpress.com/

What is the working title of your book?

For now, I’m calling my WIP “Hunter”, as that’s the main character’s first name. I’m looking forward to the moment the title jumps out of the piece at me.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Creative process interests me, and the part of the process I find the most interesting is story genesis. Once the characters are in place and start talking, I’m beyond the awe of something from nothing. At Christmas, the SO and I got our tree at a local farm like we always do. We drove past some truly lovely older and restored homes, small farms, coupled with some really sad and decrepit trailers and houses likely meant to be rough camps rather than year round homes. I’ve lived in northern New England most of my life and love it, and most of my short contemporary pieces take place there. I wanted to do a longer piece, a novella, so that was in the back of my mind. I looked off into the woods and imagined two young men, one of whom was on the run from something, and the other who wants to help him in this setting. After that, they just started talking. Well, Hunter did, as the story is in the first person.

What is the genre of the book?

M/M Romantic suspense.

Which actors would you choose to play your main characters in a movie rendition?

That’s a hard question. I watch little to no television and seldom watch movies anymore. (My SO is a writer and we spend much of our time reading and writing.) In order to clarify my inner vision of my characters, I do search model and actor websites and look at clothing catalogs, but the picture in my head is usually a collage of things. This red-headed model but with that actor’s body; this blonde actor, but a little taller. I also want the reader to see their own interpretation of the characters rather than imposing my total vision on them.

What is your one sentence synopsis of the book?

I have no talent for brevity, and break out in a sweat when I have to render something down to a few words or a sentence. Okay, here goes: When a shady FBI agent comes looking for Ted, Hunter is elated to find out Ted didn’t stand him up for their date after all, but now that Ted is on the run, Hunter wants to help him.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency/publisher?

I’m hoping for a publisher. I won’t self-publish unless, like my short stories, the rights revert back to me from a publisher. I’m old-fashioned that way.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

This one is going quickly—I started it in mid-December and it has that “writing itself feeling” that I really, really like. My genre is Historicals, and I hit a snag on the Renaissance Romantic Suspense I started during Nano. I’m currently on, hopefully, the last revision of the first book in a medieval mystery series, but the research into both eras started to blur, and I need to stay in the medieval world for now. With Historicals, it’s start and stop for me, so this was a nice change. So, I’m hoping for 40-50,000 words and I’m at 20,000, halfway there in little over a month.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I love mysteries, whatever flavor.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Whatever muse tickled my inner storyteller that day and Hunter himself who wants this story told.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I just don’t know the answer to that one yet. 🙂

I am tagging the talented and generous Kimber Vale at her blog: http://kimbervale.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

