Author Interview: Amelia Bishop

 

What got you interested in writing erotic romance?

I’ll use the famous Toni Morrison quote: “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” I was reading a lot, and I loved erotic-romance, especially with a bit of fantasy or paranormal in it, but I had trouble finding exactly what I wanted. So I started imagining my own stories. When they got too big for my head, I wrote them down. I found myself spending a lot of time on them, and decided to self-publish. I was shocked when other people read them.

What authors/books inspired your love for the genre?

I love Kresley Cole, for her fun dialogue and for pure entertainment value. Harper Fox for her gorgeous descriptive language. Abigail Roux for her over-the-top characters I can’t help but love.

What is your writing process like? Are you a planner? Pantster? What is your favorite writing tool or tip?

I am a total pantster. I have no idea what will happen in a story. I keep only the most loose, vague plot outline in my head. Which could always change. I usually reach a point, though, where I need to write out something, either a timeline or a simple outline, just to keep everything straight. But that is a late-process thing, more to correct inconsistencies than to plan.

Do you believe in Happily Ever Afters in real life? Why or why not?

No. Not really “ever after”, because that implies a stability that I don’t think exists in real relationships. Just like “love” is an active noun, something you need to work at, I believe “happy” is something you do, not something you get. So I don’t think there is a point where the journey is “done”. I should point out here I’ve been with my husband for 20 years, and I’m happy to keep working on our ever-after 🙂

Are there sub-genres or themes that tend to pop up frequently in your work (paranormal, contemporary, sci-fi, horror)? If so, what are they?

I love paranormal. Love it. I read a lot of fantasy, and I tend to throw supernatural elements in to a lot of my stories. So though structurally all my Romances are contemporary Romance, there is usually a hint of the paranormal in them.

Do you NaNoWriMo? Why or why not?

I do, or I try to. I never “win” though. 😦 I love to meet new people, so I do NaNo for the people. I am wishing right now I did the “camp” because last year I met some nice people in my cabin. No one in my real life (except my husband) knows I write, so I really need the support system NaNo provides.

Cats or dogs?

I am currently anti-animals. I have a dog, and chickens. And kids. And I’m sick of cleaning up after them all! That sounds awful. I’ve had cats, and I loved them, but they always seem to be destructive: the scratching, the hairballs, the fur everywhere. Dogs might be worse. I have two kids and I swear my dog has caused more damage and created more mess than the kids ever did. I do love animals, I just envy the lives of people who have no animals to clean up after, I guess. I know a lot of people might say cats are better for writers, I’d say the opposite. Dogs force you to get up, and get out in the fresh air.

What are your hobbies?

I cook (and by that I mean I randomly create elaborate meals where every ingredient is made from scratch) I crochet, I sew, I paint, I make seashell jewelry, I garden, I read a lot… basically I work really hard at a lot of things I’ll never get paid for.

http://www.amazon.com/Love-You-Forever-Amelia-Bishop-ebook/dp/B00JJ7L4TG

http://ameliabishop.wordpress.com

Thanks so much for stopping over to chat! I look forward to checking out your work!

Thanks for having me here 🙂

 

coverLYF

One thought on “Author Interview: Amelia Bishop

Leave a Reply

