#mywritingprocess Blog Tour

Hey there!

Thanks to Anita Cox, author of the Dirty White Candy Series/Liquid Silver Press, for tagging me in this blog tour 🙂

http://www.authoranitacox.com/

We’re talking about writing process on this tour, one of my favorite topics.

What am I working on?

My work in progress is a contemporary romantic suspense novel called “Hitting Black Ice.” It’s in the hands of beta readers at this point, soon to be moving into the submission process, if I can wrap my brain around the dreaded synopsis.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’ve taken the Law and Order/FBI character/plot trope, turned it upside down and given it a good shake.

Why do I write what I do?

Before I wrote Romance, it was mystery and history, and at this point, I love combining them into Romantic Suspense in both historical and contemporary contexts.

How does my writing process work?

First thing in the morning is the best time to write, when the doors and windows to my unconscious mind are still partly open. In the first draft, 2000 words a day is a good day, but I slow down as the story unfolds. At this point, I submit pretty raw stuff for the weekly critique group, and they help keep things moving and me questioning.  I usually revise and tighten halfway through the first draft, linking plot points up and culling out the points that did not pan out, in order to continue with the second half.

I’m tagging Kate Lowell http://thebluntinstrument.wordpress.com/ and Jena Wade http://jenawade.com/index.html so they can talk about their writing process, too. Look for them the week of July 14th 🙂

th

One thought on “#mywritingprocess Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

