Interview with Erica Pike

Black Hurricane 400 X 600

Black Hurricane Blog Tour

 Welcome Erica Pike!

What is a typical writing day like for you?

I really don’t have a typical writing day. My ideal writing day would be to wake up, get the kids to school, sit down and write. However, it’s more on the lines of waking up, getting the kids to school, taking a nap, checking out Facebook for a couple of hours, and by the time I might want to write the kids are on their way home. See, I suffer from depression and how much I write depends on how well I’m doing. Most of the time I just don’t have the energy or focus to write, so I appreciate every minute when I actually do manage to put words on paper. This kind of makes it sound like writing is more of a chore than not, but that’s not how it is for me. Whenever I’ve manage to latch myself onto a project, things go very well and those are the times I truly enjoy myself. However, if I’m yanked out of the project – for example, if my sons have a weekend off at my place – it’s hard to get back into the zone.

What is the least satisfying thing about being a writer?

The pressure of releasing the next book. I’m not talking about pressure that comes from publishers or readers, but my own internal pressure. I never feel like I’m producing work fast enough. However, because I am how I am, the more stress I’m under the less work I’m able to do. It’s like a vicious cycle. What I’ve had to accept is that there’s a reason I’m not able to go out and work full time, so I shouldn’t expect to be able to write full time either. It sucks, but that’s how it is.

What is the most satisfying thing about being a writer?

Writing. I love being in that state of mind where nothing else matters and I live through my characters, see what they see, smell what they smell. Then there’s the feeling of accomplishment whenever I publish new work. That’s always great, too.

What makes you want to write?

My story ideas make me want to write. I have so many great ideas, just not always the time/focus to write them. I’ve tried to prioritize my projects on what my readers want next, but found out the hard way that I need to prioritize what I’m actually most interested in writing next. It’s hard to write without enthusiasm.

Where and when do you prefer to write?

I like to sit at my kitchen table and write. That’s because my “office” is really a storage room inside the apartment that has no windows. From the kitchen, I look out onto the balcony and back yard, and the windows are big and bright. I’m moving houses next month and then I’ll get a real office with a big, bright window, so my kitchen table won’t look so messy anymore. As to when: I have to write in the morning. I manage to write the most when my kids are staying with their dad, because I’ll wake up in silence and I continue to write in silence (I usually don’t write to music). Any noise in between will distract me. I managed to write a lot the five weeks my sons were away with their dad, but I haven’t been able to add anything since they’ve been back. Despite that, I’d never trade my sons for more writing time. I love them too much.

Book Name: Black Hurricane

Author Name: Erica Pike

Author Bio: Erica lives in Iceland with her adorable little twin boys. She often says that her real name sounds like Klingon to foreigners. Seriously, if “Eyjafjallajökull” looks like a random strings of characters, it’s nothing in comparison to Erica’s name.

She’s been writing for several years, or ever since reading became an obsession. Aside from a business degree, Erica has taken English courses at the University of Iceland and gulped down anything that might help her in her career as an author. She takes great interest in English, but will break every single grammar rule for the sake of The Voice.

Author Contact:

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorEricaPike

https://twitter.com/EricaPike

https://www.goodreads.com/EricaPike

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/94436-gay-romance-by-erica-pike

Cover Artist: Scarlet Tie Designs

Publisher: MLR Press

Blurb: Twenty-three year old Jasper Jones fell in love with Dean McQueen at fourteen, but after a disastrous relationship, Jazz would like nothing better than to see the rock star choke on his own vomit.

After a catastrophic reunion, Dean seems bent on destroying Jazz’s life. It all started when an impromptu bar performance ended up on YouTube and Jazz became an internet sensation overnight. The name “Jazdean” keeps popping up in headlines and the paparazzi stalk his every move. To make matters worse, Jazz is about to end up on the streets for the second time in his life.

In a desperate attempt to keep his home, Jazz signs a deal with Dean’s band, Black Hurricane, to perform at a couple of concerts. It feels like one of Dean’s feeble attempts to get Jazz back, but painted into a corner like he is, Jazz has no choice.

Tour Dates/Stops

August 11: Because Two Men Are Better Than One

August 18: Full Moon Dreaming

August 25: MM Good Book Reviews, Hearts on Fire

September 1: Velvet Panic, Fallen Angel Reviews, Havan Fellows

September 8: Decadent Delights

September 15: Up All Night, Read All Day, Love Bytes

September 22: Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words, Smoocher’s Voice

September 29: Prism Book Alliance

October 6: It’s Raining Men, Michael Mandrake

October 13: Cate Ashwood

October 20: The Novel Approach

October 27: The Hat Party

November 3: Tara Lain, Dawn’s Reading Nook

November 10: My Fiction Nook

November 17: Emotion in Motion, Kimi-Chan

November 24: Amanda C. Stone

Rafflecopter Code: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rafflecopter Prize: A $50 Amazon Gift Certificate and signed paperbacks of A Life Without You, Hot Hands and The Walls Have Ears. One (international) winner for the lot.

Sales Links:

MLR Press: http://www.mlrbooks.com/ShowBook.php?book=EPBLKHUR

All Romance: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-blackhurricane-1271227-149.html?referrer=5314fed11fb4f

Amazon: www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EQM5AOE/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00EQM5AOE&linkCode=as2&tag=pridepromo-20&linkId=LWZUYCMEJN5WRSWQ

1-A Life Without You 400 X 600  1-Hot Hands 400 x 600  1-The Walls Have Ears 400 x 600

 

Leave a Reply

