Sunday Book Binge and Recommendations

My Kindle is on fire!

I’m in the middle of Rhys Ford’s “Duck, Duck, Ghost,” and I love it so far. It’s crowded with colorful, eccentric characters, and creepy visuals and sensations, perfect for a windy, rainy Saturday night by the woodstove….

A Taste of Copper by Elin Gregory:  I finished this yesterday afternoon. A Taste of Copper is a well-researched, masterfully written historical romance. The elegant tangle of the chivalric code is lived and breathed by the characters; the reality is brutal and bloody, but, by God, I wished I was there watching the tournament!

Last Line and Wolf Hall by Harper Fox: I have yet to read a Harper Fox story that I didn’t love and that didn’t break my heart.

Zero at the Bone by Jane Seville:  A deeply layered, hardworking story as one man unravels the secrets of the man sent to kill him, and finds his heart. Wow. Just Wow. Very powerful story.

The Boy with the Painful Tattoo by Josh Lanyon:  Kit Holmes is one of my favorite Lanyon characters, and I loved this third in the series.

Flight of Magpies (3) by KC Charles:  Excellent conclusion to the series.

Summer Symphony by Brandon Shire: My first by this author and I love it, but I’m still in the middle of it. You can see the adventure, history, and mystery stories come first with me–that’s the only reason why I haven’t finished it.

A Forbidden Rumspringa by Keira Andrews: Plainly, simply loved it. Looking forward to the sequel.

In the TBR pile:

  1. One Indulgence by Lydia Gastrell
  2. Another Place in Time (MM historical romance Anthology, vars)
  3. Ransom by Lee Rowan
  4. Chasing the Rebel by Tyler Flynn
  5. Fair Play by Josh Lanyon

In the NonRomance pile:

On vacation in Northern California this past September, I picked up these four books in a Petaluma bookstore:

  1. Deadwood by Pete Dexter: I just started it, and though I liked the series, I think I’m going to like the book more.
  2. Soulless, a Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carrington
  3. The Necromancer’s House by Christopher Buehlman
  4. Historical Crime Fiction, edited by Mike Ashley, which was wonderful.

A friend in Mill Valley lent me this one:

  1. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami (the cover is gorgeous, too)

We went to the Beat Museum in San Francisco and talked with the owner a bit. Turns out he’s also an author, Ezekiel Tyrus, and so he autographed a copy of his first book Eli, Ely for me. He said a reviewer called his style “a slacker’s Bukowski.” 🙂

Okay, I’ve got to get on with my day–have a good Sunday, all!

Best, Hel

Leave a Reply

