New Release and Interview: Night Vision by Amelia Bishop

NightVisionFS

Theron Antonopolis, a strige, feeds on human emotion. In a tranquil suburban neighborhood, his best meals come from a quiet systems administrator who’s become more than a source of nourishment for Theron—Alex Rowler is an obsession. Theron can no longer remain in the shadows. When they meet, any attraction Alex feels toward the sexy monster is overshadowed by his anxiety and distrust of Theron’s supernatural powers. But sensing the underlying arousal, Theron begins courting his human.

As months pass, Theron falls deeply in love, and the need to complete the strige bonding ceremony with his human lover becomes overwhelming. But a permanent commitment is too much, too soon for Alex, and he delays the joining, despite Theron’s insistence they are running out of time. As an unbonded pair, however, Theron and Alex draw the attention of the Midnight Parliament, and the lovers are brought to trial to determine their fate.

Buy Links: Amazon • Dreamspinner • AllRomance

Amelia Bishop links: Twitter • Facebook • Blog • Amazon • Pinterest • Goodreads

INTERVIEW WITH AMELIA BISHOP

What are some of your favorite books from your childhood?

I remember falling in love with The Chronicles of Narnia. Deeply in love. My aunt gave me the box set for my 10th birthday, and I remember walking around in a daze for months, just absorbed with the world and the characters. I’d always loved to read, but reading that series was the first time I was aware of how powerful and magical a fictional world could be, and how much it could influence my life.

I also loved The Wind in the Willows, The Indian in the Cupboard, A Wrinkle in Time, and anything by Judy Blume. One of the coolest things for me is re-reading these stories with my kids, and seeing them get caught up in fiction. It’s beautiful.
When and why did you decide that you wanted to write M/M Romance?

I was having a hard time finding books I liked in the m/m genre, this was probably in 2008 or 2009? The kindle was fairly new and there wasn’t a ton of m/m out there. I very quickly read most of the offerings. There was no m/m at the library, and very little non-erotica m/m at the bookstore. Over the next few years, I watched the genre blow up, and I loved it! Finally there was a large selection of Romance with gay MCs!

When I started writing in late 2012, I wrote bisexual menage erotica. Again, because there wasn’t a ton of it available, I wrote the stories I wanted to read. But one story (“Honest Desires,” part of a trilogy I have since unpublished) was mostly m/m, and very romantic. It was by far my most popular title. I got so much positive feedback on that one, I decided to write another m/m story with a HEA, and it kind of snowballed from there. I gradually moved from writing erotica, to erotic romance, to Romance, but I stuck with m/m.

Who are some of your favorite M/M Romance authors and why?

I love Harper Fox, for her lush sensual description. I love Damon Suede for his fun, unique voice. I love Abigail Roux for her funny characters and snappy dialogue.

Describe your writing place (photo if you like).

I write at an old desk in my bedroom, which is constantly cluttered with notebooks, water glasses, papers, pens, and random toys from my kids. I also often write on my chromebook, while standing at the kitchen counter and binge eating. Not a recommended writing method, but I do it J

What makes you want to write?

I think most writers have moments where they feel like giving up (at least I hope I’m not the only one!) and when I feel that way, I often receive an email from a reader. It’s like magic! I don’t know why it happens and I don’t want to know. I am grateful. Those e-mails are what keep me going.

It’s also great to dream up stories, and so fun to write when the words are really flowing. But without people telling me they enjoyed my work, I don’t know how long I would continue.

Thanks for dropping by Amelia! 😀

Best, Hel

2 thoughts on “New Release and Interview: Night Vision by Amelia Bishop

Leave a Reply

