#sunday8 Weekend Writing Warriors: The Burning Sky #13

wewriwa_square_2

Welcome Weekend Warriors and Readers!

Follow this link to find more authors and stories:

http://www.wewriwa.com/

This link will take you to previous installments of this story:

https://velvetpanic2.wordpress.com/burning-sky/

The Burning Sky #13

But it was inside me. The falling, tumbling…the screaming need to get away from the flames and the burning, only to realize that away meant down, and that there was nothing to stop our descent in gravity’s cruel grasp. Nothing but the cold hard earth awaited us.

As I steeled myself for the landing that would crush me, I became aware of a large warm hand on my back and that I could do nothing to defend myself should that touch become violent. Someone nearby was whispering, but the words blew away in the wind. The whisper grew louder  and the words…penetrated somehow.

You have wings, fly.

Beautiful pearlescent wings unfurled so wide their flapping conquered the screaming wind and slowed my fall.

wings-vector-element_Mkimxn8d

4 thoughts on “#sunday8 Weekend Writing Warriors: The Burning Sky #13

Leave a Reply

