#8sunday Weekend Writing Warriors: Burning Sky #27

wewriwa_square_2

http://www.wewriwa.com/

Welcome Weekend Writers and Readers!

For the story so far, follow this link:  https://velvetpanic2.wordpress.com/burning-sky/

Welcome to Burning Sky #27

She held the deck out to me. I halved it, shuffled, and halved it again. After the requisite third shuffle, she spoke soft words from my childhood among them as I handed the deck back.

She swept her hand across the space on the carpet where she would lay them, a blessing and a wish. Her mood made me nervous. Her eyes filled with sadness as she lay out the spread, muttering to herself.

I knew the cards well and briefly read them as she laid each card down, more familiar friends from the past. She got to the last position and carefully set down the last one. Her eyes grew round and she leaned back, as if she wanted to get away from it.

It was not a card I had ever seen before.

il_570xN.387346692_ts4l

(Photo credit: This is actually a mask for sale on Etsy, Clay Faces by Kristie Brigham. This is called Steampunk Gypsy Crone Sage–it suited the mood 🙂 Lots of beautiful stuff here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/112820550/steampunk-gypsy-crone-sage-older-woman)

5 thoughts on “#8sunday Weekend Writing Warriors: Burning Sky #27

  1. I love fortune telling stories and so intriguing that the last card was unknown. I read tarot sometimes 🙂 Only for myself and my family though….that mask from Etsy was shivery, but obviously a very artistic person created it! Excellent excerpt, left me wanting more…

    Like

  2. Ooh! An unfamiliar card? What is it what is it what is it?

    Can you tell you’ve gotten me intrigued? Lol…I love your gift for cutting off the snippet at just the most aggravating place. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

