Release Spotlight and Giveaway: Spider Wars by Jo Lakey

Guest Blog Post:
Have you ever wondered what it would be like to live in a utopian society of psychic warriors where everyone is equally free to explore who and what they want to be and rank is earned through intelligence, skill, and innate talent and the birthing of babies is the exclusive domain of the resident witch geneticists? No? Maybe its just me … I’m weird that way.

I am JD Lakey, author of The Black Bead Chronicles. Book three of the five-book series, Spider Wars, has just been released. The main character, Cheobawn, is a little girl who lives far, far away in both space and time, on a planet so hostile even the cute fuzzy things want to eat your face off and whose penultimate predator can catch up your mind and make you walk, docile, into its jaws.

There can be no lone-wolves in this world. It takes cooperation to survive. Little girls start early, bonding into pairs and trios and quartets. Boys find each other on the sparring floor and form gangs. But gangs cannot go outside the dome unsupervised. They need an Ear – a female of proven psychic ability – in order to form a Pack. Packs give status. Packs grant access to the ultimate levels of dome power. Packs mature into Covens whose members call each other Husband and Wife with all the privileges those words imply.

In the first book, Black Bead, we meet ten-year-old Tam. Tam needs an Ear if his gang is to ever get outside and away from the constant supervision of the Fathers. He picks Megan but Megan has baggage: six-year-old Choebawn, an abysmal failure at being an Ear. Bad Luck, the Elders call her. Megan wants to prove Cheobawn’s worth so she allows her to pick the destination of their first foray. Tam wanted an adventure. He gets his wish and then some.

It is in the first book that we start getting hints that there is more to Cheobawn than meets the eye. By dome rules, she should not exist. Her life is a mystery that Cheobawn must solve if she is to survive and each book takes you closer and closer to the truth.


Title: Spider Wars: Book Three of the Black Bead Chronicles

Series: The Black Bead Chronicles

J.D. Lakey

Genre: Science Fiction

Imprint/Publisher: Wayword Books

Release Date: April 11, 2016


Join the Blackwind Pack on their third adventure in Spider Wars: Book Three of the Black Bead Chronicles.

Winter is a time of quiet industry under the domes. At least it should be. Cheobawn senses a danger she doesn’t understand, and with the eldest three children of the pack away for temple training, Connor is the only one left who can convince her to take action. As calamity stalks the tribes of the high forests, the raging winter storms kill too many – man and animal alike. Now the bennelk warn of a new threat coming at them from out of the Wastes, and the people of the dome must once again trust in the young pack to save them.

Follow Blackwind Pack on their third adventure through the perilous winter landscape of their planet as Cheobawn and Connor lead their people on a race against time to save their herds from the threat of an otherworldly storm with a mysterious and deadly origin that threatens to wipe out the domes forever and reignite an intragalactic war for control of the planet. 

Welcome to the World of Black Bead

On a savage, outlying planet an enclave of psionically-trained humans have built a utopian, matriarchal society that lives in harmony with all life. Leaving behind the polluted and corrupt world in which they lived, they colonized a new home far from the eyes of the galactic empire. Shielded from the rest of the galaxy by the dangerous beasts that inhabit their lush, forested world, the village lives a simple life under their Home Dome. But their goal was more than just to live in peace – they wanted to create the perfect human who could bring peace to the galaxy. Rather than merely cloning themselves, they began to manipulate genes in order to create a race of mutants with enhanced telepathic powers.

Under the direction of the ruling witch coven, each child of the Windfall Dome is tested at a young age to asses their abilities – a test which can plot the course for the rest of their lives. Unfortunately, Cheobawn – the daughter of the ruling First Mother to the dome – is marked with the Black Bead on her Choosing Day, a symbol of bad luck and shame. It seems the child the mothers had placed so much hope in would not be the future ruler they had hoped for. Yet there is something powerful about her that the elders don’t understand.

I’d like to invite you to enter my Goodreads giveaway for a chance to win won of 20 signed copies of Black Bead: Book One of the Black Bead Chronicles. Here’s the link:
About the Author:

J.D. Lakey was born and raised on the high plains of Montana under an endless sky and as far from civilization as anyone in the twentieth century could get. There she explored the finer nuances of silence and the endless possibilities of the imagination. The stories were always there. The shifting of fortunes finally granted her the time to gather all the stories and give them flesh.

An avid reader of science fiction and comics, she currently lives in San Diego, California where she divides her time between her writing, commuting on the I-5, and spending time with her delightful grandchildren.


Follow the Author:



J.D. Lakey
author of The Black Bead Chronicles

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s